About Us
New & Noteworthy
Policies & Positions
Meet Our Chaverim
Conversion To Judaism
Member Registry*
Rabbinic Resources*
Shidduch Project*
Photo Galleries
Items for Sale
Join the RCA
Contact Us
* Requires Login

What is this for?
Forgot My Password


About Us

Since its founding in 1935 by alumni of the Rabbi Isaac Elchanan Theological Seminary of Yeshiva University and its merger, in 1942, with the rabbinic alumni of the Hebrew Theological College (Chicago, IL), the RCA has been led by outstanding rabbinic personalities, including its esteemed past presidents.  Rabbi Joseph B. Soloveitchik zt”l was the RCA’s guiding spirit and mentor for decades, until his death in 1993.

Products of dozens of yeshivot in Israel, America, and elsewhere, the 1000 members of the RCA serve the Jewish world in 18 countries.  Members serve as congregational rabbis; mechanchim; military, prison, and health care chaplains; community organizational professionals; academicians; kashruth, youth, outreach, and beit din professionals, and more.  Our many members living in Israel are organized as the RCA’s Israel Region.

Furthering devotion to God, His people, and His Torah, the RCA for generations has played, and today continues to play, an integral role in Jewish life around the world:

  • It provided material and spiritual support to Soviet refuseniks, was active in the United States Civil Rights movement, and fought for the legal accommodation of Shabbat observance in the United States.

  • It helped to launch OU Kosher, and fought on behalf of shechitah and more humane treatment of animals.

  • It was in the forefront of promoting mechitza usage and halachic standards in North American synagogues.

  • It fostered improved observance of halachic burial and funeral rites, and conditions in Jewish cemeteries.

  • It provides placement, career guidance, pension services, collegiality, and training to generations of rabbis and the hundreds of communities they serve.

  • Its members build and sustain Jewish schools, mikvaot, synagogues, and reliable local kashruth supervision agencies throughout the United States.

  • It provides intellectual leadership though its publication of Tradition, a Journal of Orthodox Jewish Thought; Hadarom (1957-2005); and, its Sermon Manual (1943-1986).

  • The familiar RCA siddur, published in 1960 (de Sola Pool) and 1984 (Artscroll), has lofted countless prayers heavenward. A new edition is being readied for publication. Its Lifecycle Madrikh has given proper halachic guidance at innumerable weddings, funerals, and more.

  • It steadily encourages productive citizenship among Jews, champions their rights everywhere, and provides religious leadership which firmly and unconditionally supports the State of Israel.

  • It expresses to Jewish and general society the outlook of traditional Jewish law and thought regarding a wide variety of contemporary issues, including filing amicus curiae briefs in cases of significant judicial concern to the Jewish community.

  • It works closely with the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America (OU), serving as its rabbinic arm.

  • It proudly hosts and works closely with the Beth Din of America (BDA) and advocates for widespread use of the joint BDA/RCA Halachic Prenuptial Agreement, which it helped to create.

  • It maintains a strong working relationship with the Chief Rabbinate of Israel, the Conference of European Rabbis, and other rabbinic and Jewish communal organizations throughout the world.

  • It represents North America Orthodox Jewry in its relations with Israeli and American government officials and other bodies. Its voice at the Conference of Presidents of Major Jewish Organizations is heard clearly.

  • It works together with the Catholic Church and other religious groups through the International Jewish Committee for Interreligious Consultation (IJCIC).

President: Rabbi Elazar Muskin
Honorary President: Rabbi Shalom Baum
First Vice President: Rabbi Daniel Korobkin
Vice President, Midwest: Rabbi Binyamin Blau
Vice President, Northeast: Rabbi Michael Whitman
Vice President, Southeast: Rabbi Efrem Goldberg
Vice President, West Coast: Rabbi Daniel Friedman
Financial Secretary: Rabbi Howard Zack
Recording Secretary: Rabbi Hanan Balk 
Treasurer: Rabbi Seth Grauer

Rabbi Mark Dratch, Executive Vice President
Rabbi Reuven Tradburks, Representative in Israel
Rabbi Michael Zylberman, Administrator, Regional Courts for Conversion
Abby Lerner, National Director of Conversion Services
Shaul Hen, Director of Operations
Marilyn Amar, Executive Assistant
Dov Levine, Controller

Executive Committee
Rabbi Daniel Alter
Rabbi Shalom Axelrod
Rabbi Gedalyah Berger
Rabbi Nasanayl Braun
Rabbi Asher Bush
Rabbi Michael Davies
Rabbi Pini Dunner
Rabbi Zvi Engel
Rabbi Ephraim Epstein
Rabbi Ilan Feldman
Rabbi David Fine
Rabbi Joshua Flug
Rabbi Yechezkel Freundlich
Rabbi Daniel Friedman
Rabbi Aaron Glatt
Rabbi Zev Goldberg
Rabbi Avi Goldstein
Rabbi Stuart Grant
Rabbi Seth Grauer
Rabbi Yisroel Isaacs
Rabbi Binyamin Krohn
Rabbi Ira Kronenberg
Rabbi Binyamin Lehrfield
Rabbi Uriel Lubetski
Rabbi Chaim Marcus
Rabbi Chaim Marder
Rabbi Binyamin Marwick
Rabbi Eliezer Mischel
Rabbi Jonathan Muskat
Rabbi Yehuda Oppenheimer
Rabbi Adir Posy
Rabbi Ariel Rackovsky
Rabbi Mitchell Rocklin
Rabbi Yoel Schonfeld
Rabbi Elchanan Schulgasser
Rabbi Yerachmiel Seplowitz
Rabbi Evan Shore
Rabbi Gil Student
Rabbi Eliyahu Teitz
Rabbi Kalman Topp
Rabbi Yaakov Trump
Rabbi Mark Wildes
Rabbi David Wilensky
Rabbi Daniel Yolkut
Rabbi Ari Zahtz
Rabbi Eliezer Zwickler  

Website by:
Web2W - Webmaster Services

© Copyright 2018 Rabbinical Council of America
All Rights Reserved.